Artist Name



Acoustic, Blues, Country, Indie, Rock, Singer/Songwriter


Metro Detroit Area


The Happy Curmudgeons were founded by Dave Hamilton in 2015.   Dave gathered other studio musicians from the Detroit and Flint areas in Michigan and wrote or co-wrote all 11 tracks  on their first album, Meant 2 Be.   The band explores several genres on Meant 2 Be.  Nate Harasim (Dave Koz Band) and Mark Byerly (Bob Seger Band) co-produced the album from The Spot Pontiac and Longview Studio.  The album features: Dave Hamilton (vocals, guitar), Amy Dixon-Lavery (vocals), Jeff Warner (vocals, guitar, mandolin), Takashi Iio (bass), Keith Leonard (bass), Shawn Ramsey (bass), Dylan Hornsby (bass), Rick Beamon (drums),  Jeff Ryan (sax on Soulsville), Marlow Ray Morgan (vocals on Burn Sugar Burn) and Nate Harasim (piano, keyboards and percussion)


Dave Hamilton minored in music at Miami University.  He played in several bands and did studio work in the Cincinnati area in the early 90’s.   Jeff Warner has played guitar since he was 12.   He played with several band including Gene Pool and the Pole Barn Rebels.  Jeff also currently plays with The Outfit.   Amy Dixon-Lavery began singing in Chorale at her high school.  She has sung at state competitions and has won many vocal contests.  Jay “Tumbleweed” Burrs is an accomplished harmonica player.

Fact Sheet

The Happy Curmudgeons touch on several genres on Meant 2 Be: Classic Rock, Blues, Contemporary Folk, Country and Indie.   Meant 2 Be was released on Dec. 1, 2017 and can be found on iTunes, Spotify, Amazon, Soundcloud, Google Play, and CD Baby.   The band has enjoyed success on Reverb Nation in 2018 reaching No. 3 in the US in overall genres.



The band released Meant 2 Be independently on Dec. 1, 2017.

Lyric Sheet

Songs on Meant 2 Be include :  Bar Hoppin’, Soulsville, Meant 2 Be, 3rd Coast, Carnal Boogie, Burn Sugar Burn, Idle Time, You Gotta Move On, ButterFly, Seasons and Scatter Brain.


Custom Text Box 1

The Happy Curmudgeons have released their debut album, Meant 2 Be on Dec. 1, 2017.   You can listen to the 11 original tracks on Amazon, iTunes, Spotify, Google Play, Soundcloud, CD Baby and Bandcamp.



active 1 month, 3 weeks ago